Allscripts Practice Management Software Reviews & Ratings | 2023 (2023)

Home

Medical Software

Allscripts Practice Management

Allscripts Practice Management Reviews

Allscripts Practice Management Software Reviews & Ratings | 2023 (3)Allscripts Practice Management Software Reviews & Ratings | 2023 (4)

RATING:

2.86

(133)

Overview

Reviews

Comparisons

Alternatives

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

3

Customer Support

2.5

Value for money

2.5

Functionality

3

Pros and Cons

  • "The integration and intuitiveness to drive quality patient care."
  • "An easy patient demographic system to register patients and keeping track of insurance & patient information."
  • "I enjoy that I no longer have to search for a paper chart."
  • "3rd new url in the past 6 months we have had to update all computers. Sign in is difficult - 3 sign ins."
  • "We are still in shock that they had/have the capability to prevent us from conducting business due to legitimate dispute even though we continued to pay them."
  • "The only problem is that I ended my Allscripts subscription in 2013 and am still getting bills."

Have you used Allscripts Practice Management and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a Review

Filter (133 reviews)

Apply Filters:

X

Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 133 Results

All Allscripts Practice Management Reviews

1-25 of 133 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jordan

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Excellent For Nursing Home Referrals

PROS

We used to use all scripts at our nursing homes. This is an excellent platform for staying in contact with the hospitals and not missing potential referrals.

CONS

I really don't have any negative issues with this platform. At one point it became difficult to manage as a person had to stay at the desk, they later upgraded the mobile version and resolved the issue.

Kathy

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Veradigm - Allscripts Eprescribe Stand-alone Program - Great program for a small practice.

Overall, Allscripts eprescribe is a great program for a small medical practice like ours. It gets the job done. Once in a while there are outages, but they are usually resolved fairly quickly. I wish the phone app was more user friendly especially when on vacation so I don't have to wait until I'm at a computer to send a prescription.

PROS

I like that we can see which medications the patients have been prescribed and when. It allows us to pre-populate the prescriptions for refills so we don't have to type everything in again.

CONS

The phone app is basically useless. I have to go into a browser on my phone and go directly to the website to be able to see the patient prescription history and send a prescription. Only use it in case of emergencies when I don't have access to a computer.

Reason for choosing Allscripts Practice Management

It was the easiest to use for the best price.

Buffy

Medical Practice

Used free trial

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed December 2014

Nurse at mid-sized hospital using EHR

PROS

I can't think of a single thing I like "best" about this EHR.

CONS

The AllScripts EHR we are using is terrible to say the least. Nothing populates to anything else in a meaningful way. If I give insulin, it should populate to the diabetic flowsheet. But I have to double chart everything. It isn't capable of connecting to our telemetry, so again, another entry. The physical assessment is ridiculously laborious to chart. It takes nearly 20-30 minutes just to open my patients chart. As I move from room to room to chart at the bedside (per directive), the log in and out time is very long. Once charting, there are far too many descriptors that mean nearly the same thing. The list of possible findings is so long that it takes forever to look through and it's not in any particular order that I can see (such as alphabetical descriptors so it's easier to find what I'm looking for). It forces you through some things line by line, while completely skipping others so I have to manually go back. For example - on the skin assessment, I am line by line forced through everything each time. But on the cardiac section, it skips right over the telemetry parameter if the patient's assessment was WDL. If I've added a tele parameter I probably want to use it. There are so many columns across the page it's mind numbing to look at and often leads to people inserting data in the wrong column. If a parameter is accidentally clicked but is quickly realized not to be the one I meant to click, there is no way to delete it, this leading to yet another grayed out but space taking place. If there has been no data entered in a parameter, we should be able to delete or have an undo action option. In short, we are health care providers, not IT professionals. I should never be spending more time charting about the care I am providing than actually providing care. And the worst part is that with all the endless clicking of boxes, I chart less meaningful things than I did paper charting! I have yet to find one person who likes our system.

Jessica

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Worked great for us!

Overall, there were many things I would "update" or "upgrade", but it worked for us consistently with little to no bugs or errors.

PROS

This software was easy to use, somewhat easy to manipulate for our practice. Worked well with multiple providers in multiple departments with several locations.

CONS

It's not aesthetically very attractive. Scheduling could improve with clicking and dragging as well as keeping record of which user altered or cancelled appointments. Only shows who scheduled and the last user to edit. No POS system for us so we used a separate outside POS system. Integrated would have been much easier.

Marie

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2017

Not up with the current times

We have been unhappy, but our Liason Sally Borel came to the rescue and set up meetings to answer our concerns and has kept in close contact with me. She is a big, big improvement over the Allscript liaison that we had before, Maureen. she never returned any phone calls or emails.

PROS

Careplan charting Support Team Sally Borel our Liason Fact that a clinician does not need to be hooked to WiFi to use Med profile more user friendly, still needs tweaking to be able to give to a patient

CONS

Not cloud based Need to sync in order to see documentation Need a server You charge by the license and not by the census Can not use the software on any device HHA care plan not user friendly

Scott

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed June 2017

Are you kidding me?

Run away from this company as fast as you can before they hook you and apparently never let you go!!!

PROS

Absolutely nothing. There really was never anything that was good. The only reason I stayed with them as long as I did was the initial investment in both time and money was such that I felt obligated to keep it.

CONS

Don't know where to begin. Was a user for several (5-6) years. Got so frustrated with the constant "upgrades" that did nothing but erase all of the templates that I'd already spent hours compiling. Trying to reach customer service was a joke. Finally saw the light and switched. I now get EMR and office management/billing support for less than half of what Allscripts was charging me annually. The only problem is that I ended my Allscripts subscription in 2013 and am still getting bills. Got one again today which is what prompted me to go seek out somewhere to post a review for services June 2017 thru June 2018. Again, this is after I terminated service with them in 2013. Pretty fair example of how on top of things they were when I was actually using there services.

Pam

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed June 2017

Our expenses for a small medical practice were out of control with Allscripts.

PROS

There is nothing that I liked about the company. I pay the bills for our company and every month I had no idea what I was paying for.

CONS

There is a long term cost for literally everything you want to do or change. Their contracts are so lawyered up they are impossible to get out of. We just terminated our service and we have struggled through with them since 2008. They were our first EHR company. They have now sent me my billing information through 2026. I left a voicemail Monday which as of yesterday afternoon had not been returned. I sent an additional email yesterday in regards to the bill which has not been answered. I also left my cell number since I would be out of the office and so far no word from anyone to discuss our bill. My practice is closing and opening up under a new name and tax ID. Not sure how to handle their bills for the next 9 years.

Jeffrey

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2020

Cloud Servers down once again

The main problem has been the instability of their servers. Once again today, the Allscripts Cloud Server is not working. I have lost, in total, weeks of time not being able to access my EMR over the past several years. All lost revenue, not recoverable, not to mention the stress on the patients, doctors, and staff. Eventually, one has to consider the time, cost, and extreme hassle of switching to another system, which, by the way, carries a very high financial cost for Allscripts to help with the migration.

PROS

Features at point of sale were impressive. Delivery of function extremely challenged.

CONS

Every additional function eg MIPPS, Patient portal, EPCS, etc, laden with multiple extra charges. Very expensive once all functionality is added. Allscripts billing is extremely complicated and has been frequently wrong. It typically has taken months to sort out each billing problem that has occurred.

anna

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2017

Expensive and not flexible

PROS

Easy lay out and easy to use. it has all the aspects of EHR like eRx, faxing, internal communications.

CONS

If you want support for your equipment, you have to purchase all hardware and software through them at 3 times the cost. We were trying to upgrade and their estimate included "education and training" for 3 years. When I asked to have it either removed or brought down to 1 year since we won't need it, they refused because it's what they think is best for us. Their monthly maintenance fees are very high and any updates I can't do myself, I have to pay extra to them. We were looking to switch to cloud based version but their fee is so high which didn't work for us either. In other words, once they got you and you are stuck with them, anything you want to do will cost you a fortune.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Allscripts PM is functional and without fuss.

It's straightforward and not time-consuming during the clinic day. It's utilized by office staff and by the billing company without issue.

PROS

The day to day appointment management functions are straightforward and the set up is intuitive. Setting up appointments, moving appointments, looking up patient demos and changing registration is all very simple.

CONS

Reporting functions aren't straightforward. It's best if users have billing experience and the appropriate software to export reports to. My office does not have Excel which would be helpful in reporting.

mariaelena

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2018

Worst costumer service. Do no trust this company

PROS

semi easy to use. I don't really have anything good to say about this company. The lied to me when I renewed the contract. Have an attorney read your contract before you sign any contract with a EMR.

CONS

Worst costumer service . You placed a call, somebody abroad answered, you placed a ticket, and nobody resolve your problems. They don't give you ant training even though they offered to me when I signed my contract. Very unprofessional. Check your statements they always come with new extra charges without an explanation. Terrible experience with this company. A nightmare.

Gordana

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2017

Allscripts and customer service

Allscripts does not care about their clients, quality of service or patients. All they care is their vallet. Very sad.

PROS

After 10 years of using Allscripts EHR I don't think that I see any pros Their sales representatives are very quick to send you a proposal for contract

CONS

Very poor customer service, Patient portal is difficult to use: we have received multiple complains from patients. Allscripts charges and overcharges everything; they blackmale customers with long contracts with no services delivered on their behalf. Their sale department is unethical.

pam

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2017

Review of Allscripts EMR

PROS

Like the fact that it auto generates orders, requires a complete chart before it can be submitted. Like that I can see patients from all offices.

CONS

Cannot flip around in the chart (assessments to care plan) without completing the previous section. Do not like that it does not calculate travel time correctly. Do not like that fact that the branch cannot be selected on the visit. Do not like the fact that some of the sections contain assessments that are not specific to hospice.

Jack

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2018

The worst EHR I have ever experienced

AVOID

CONS

Everyday is a new adventure with this company. We never know if we will be able to log on in the morning. The system was not designed by a physician: every step takes 5 extra steps. Customer support is horrible. Let me same that again: Customer support is horrible! I'm not sure how this company stays in business. The system stalls with every click! Please do not use allscripts: You will definitely regret signing a contract with them

Wojciech

Medical Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed December 2017

My worst decision ever

Do not even think about it - Scary!!!!

CONS

It conglomerates multiple units which are not working well together. Rep hard to customize, Support is terrible ( on many occasions we got call back 1 o2 days later ), few occasions there was no service for many hours, end some issues are still being fixed - close to a year. The best part is their billing department - you will be billed for everything and some more what you do not know

David

Medical Practice, 201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2018

Poor design, speed, support

DON'T BUY THIS!!

PROS

Lots of downtime. At my institution, that meant we could return to paper charting which was more accurate & efficient.

CONS

Lots of clicks to do anything. Requires several screens to do almost anything, with slow transition time between screens. Used this 68 months, seemed slower the longer we used it. Certain parts could not be edited. Requested changes re: typos & inaccurate descriptions which could not be edited, and still were not fixed after years and multiple Updates. Frequent freezes and crashes. Anytime an Update was implemented, several days of freezes and crashes. Many Updates worthless (e.g., changes in screen colors, fonts, design of screens, etc.). Template outputs too wordy.

Stephen

Medical Practice, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

One of the better EMR

great

PROS

The .initals bleerps that you could put in anywhere. Fully integrated with lab radiology etc.

CONS

I would have to think for a long time to find somthing. No one or thing is perfect but this worked well.

Reasons for switching to Allscripts Practice Management

new job

Baldemar

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2017

I wish it was a faster EHR

PROS

Lab and X-ray interfaces work as expected The H&P format is appears good. Support is fast for critical issues but a little slow for other problems

CONS

It takes too many clicks to finish a note and dragon speaking is not part of EHR but can be added.

Kortni

Medical Practice, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2018

Archaic Software

It's thorough and can be customized, but building the functions out requires a lot of time and effort.

PROS

I like that we can ePrescribe and eFax. It shows the patient's insurance carrier at the top, but it doesn't show their ID number, and to do anything with the insurance company, you need the ID number, and the only place to find it is in their SCANNED in insurance docs - chart viewer. That's pretty bad.

CONS

The interface is not attractive, the software itself is really big, so it's slow, and worst of all it requires A LOT of clicks to do anything!

Samy

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2017

Biggest mistake, we did in our life

Please , do not think about Do not ruin your life , your patients and your sanity over it. Inspite it is very expensive but changing software is not easy.

PROS

EHR with horrible customer support I do not like anything about it. May be email intergration . They return the call same day but useless

CONS

8 months ago, we are getting multiple errors during the day, that paralyzed the computer and we have to restart the computer again that may take up to 10-15 minutes and sometimes more. Imagine this can happen 10-20 times per day which lead us to finish charting at midnight every day. Very frustrating We are contacting our attorney

Sonia

Medical Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Good software for home health agencies

Overall, a good product.

PROS

Easy to use; users point and click; can see previous assessments used by previous users; can save and return to complete.

CONS

The system updates pretty often. They are usually scheduled, but users are unable access during a period of time which is inconvenient; sometimes crashes.

Mike

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2017

Allscripts review

PROS

Easy to use and works with Dragon software. I like the macros templates that can be generated - saves typing

CONS

Slow, instability with random kick offs, a lot of clicking is needed. The ICD 10 has poor choices and conflicting descriptions with provider codes vs. ICD 10 billing coding.

Jamie

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

Great product!

PROS

This software is very user friendly. It’s very easy to navigate between the different features.

CONS

It seems to have frequent issues with freezing or running slow.

Christine

Medical Practice

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2016

Hospice Administrator

PROS

the product has been around for quite awhile and when used as it was meant to be used, it works well. Need additional education on reports etc.

CONS

how long it takes to receive an answer back; not always timely. We did have an on-site visit and did ask some questions regarding the template for IDT and have not received the requested information. This meeting at least three months ago.

Harry

Used free trial

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2012

I have been using Allscripts EHR in my cardiology practice since 2000. We are currently on version 8.2 with an update to version 9.3 scheduled in 2 weeks. Four providers are currently on the system. It is soon to be expanded to the remainder of a merged practice, with a total of 21 providers, who will then be on the EHR. It has been a very stable product and is quite easy to use for documenting visits. I am able to complete documenting a visit and am able to generate referral letters on most patients before they leave the office. Electronic prescribing is very easy. We have exam and history templates to cover most of the common types of visits for both new and established patients. We have templates for reporting tests, generating letters to patients, and referring providers. These can be developed in the office without needing support from Allscripts. I do not have experience with the meaningful use tools yet, and need some training before I will feel comfortable with the reporting capabilities. We are able to train new staff to use the EHR quite rapidly. Customer support, when needed, has been satisfactory.

Showing 1 - 25 of 133 Reviews
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Allyn Kozey

Last Updated: 22/04/2023

Views: 5872

Rating: 4.2 / 5 (63 voted)

Reviews: 86% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Allyn Kozey

Birthday: 1993-12-21

Address: Suite 454 40343 Larson Union, Port Melia, TX 16164

Phone: +2456904400762

Job: Investor Administrator

Hobby: Sketching, Puzzles, Pet, Mountaineering, Skydiving, Dowsing, Sports

Introduction: My name is Allyn Kozey, I am a outstanding, colorful, adventurous, encouraging, zealous, tender, helpful person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.